The current lighthouse was built in 1835 and consists of a lighthouse tower, which is still operational as a lighthouse, the Head Keepers house which is occupied by the owners and East and West Keepers Cottages which are available as 4 star self catering holidays cottages.
Over the last ten years the lighthouse has been slowly restored retaining all of the original features but providing all the modern facilities we consider essential today.
From the Keepers cottages and the headland there are stunning views across the Irish Sea and along the Anglesey or North Wales coasts. On clear days it is possible to see Ireland, the Isle of Man, Dumfries and Galloway, the Lake district and the Clwydian range in North Wales. Have a look at more images on Flickr
The lighthouse is currently owned by Robin and Iona Beckmann who live in the house with their two children Anna and Edward. The family bought the Lighthouse from Mersey Docks and Harbour Board back in 2001.
To contact please e-mail:
Robin’s brother and sister-in-law run an eco chic hotel for those interested in art, painting, photography and the environment. They are based near Velez Blanco in the Sierra Maria in Spain, their website is Cortijada Los Gázquez – it is really worth visiting, the web site and the place.
Point Lynas Lighthouse has a fascinating history as early as 1766 the need was felt for a station on Anglesey where ships making for Liverpool could pick up pilots. The Liverpool Pilotage Service, after examining several sites, eventually chose Point Lynas.
At first the early pilots used a farmhouse as their lookout post. After 1779 they used two oil lamps with Hutchinsons small metal reflectors set into a tower and showing in two directions. The new lighthouse was built in 1835 by the Mersey Docks and Harbour Board at a cost £1,165. It is unusual in having a castellated tower and walls giving it the appearance of a Victorian country house rather than a lighthouse. The light is behind a large bow window on the ground floor.
Trinity House assumed responsibility for Point Lynas on 2nd April, 1973.
The lighthouse is a low castellated structure painted white with the round lens room connected to the seaward side of the building. The station is fully automated, the power source being electric, and is backed up by standby generators which cut in should the mains power fail.
There was also an automatic fog detector which used to start the fog signal should the visibility drop to less than 2½ miles, this has recently been turned off. More pictures on Flickr.
More history is available in the blog at Pirates of the Carribbean ……and Point Lynas. A good full history of the lighthouse is in a book called ‘Lighthouses of Liverpool Bay’ by John and Diane Robinson, available from the history press